Chicken Stir Fry

So, I failed at posting my food everyday.  However, I starting using MyFitnessPal and that has really helped me become accountable and aware of what I am eating and putting into my body.  I highly recommend using this.  The best part of the app is that you can scan barcodes of your food.

Since I am horrible at posting what I eat each day, I hope to post at least one recipe a week for others to try.  Tonight, I made chicken stir fry.  This is a staple in our house and we have it about every other week.  The best part of stir fry is that you can change up the meat and veggies for some variation (although we often stick to the same thing).

Tonight I used 3 chicken breasts, one head of broccoli, about half a bag of baby carrots, and about half a tray of mushrooms.   The recipe that I use is adapted from my Eat Clean Cookbook.  I have been using it for years, and have always done my own thing to the original recipe and tonight I finally took the time to write it down.

Here are the first steps:

picstitch-6

 

1.  (PICTURE #3) Cut your chicken your chicken into small pieces (I use food scissors to do this).  Once it is in a bowl, add the following ingredients to the chicken:
2 Tbspn low sodium soy sauce
2 Tbspn lemon juice
2 Tbspn olive oil
1/2 Tbspn mincel garlic
1/2 Tbspn chopped ginger
(If you choose, do this ahead a time and let marinate).
Once you are finished throw all of this in pan and let cook.

2.  While the chicken is cooking, chop your vegetables.  You may add different vegetables and more or less of them. (Pictures #1 & #2) and also…

3.  Make your Stir Fry sauce and place in a separate bowl (Picture #4):
1/4 cup of chicken broth
2 Tbspn of lemon juice

2 Tbspn of low sodium soy sauce
1 1/2 Tbspn of orange marmalade
2 Tbspn of hoisin 
1/2 Tbspn of minced garlic
1 Tbspn of chopped ginger
1 Tbspn of corn starch 

4. Once your chicken is finished, remove from stove and place in a bowl.

5.  Begin cooking your vegetables.  Start with the veggies that take the longest first.

6.  Once veggies are finished, add the chicken back.

7.  Pour in the stir fry sauce and let simmer for about 5-7 minutes or until it thickens.

picstitch-7

I serve this over brown rice, and we get about five servings out of it… great the next day for leftovers.  I put this in MyFitnessPal and without the brown rice, one serving of this is 274 calories.   Maybe I will change it up next week and try a different protein and some different veggies.

If you try this recipe, let me know what you think… Enjoy!

6 thoughts on “Chicken Stir Fry

  1. Sounds yummy, i like the sauce :). Ideas…we use quinoa and some times add an egg. I also change up my veggies to whatever I have in the house. Or a frozen bag of stir fry veggies if in a hurry.

  2. Pingback: Chicken Stir Fry | What's for Dinner Moms?

Leave a Reply

