The Kennedy’s

First things first… FOOD.

Before I get to the title of my post, I apologize for not posting my meals yesterday or posting my dinner on Monday evening.  Yesterday I came down with something yucky and had me under the weather for the majority of the day.  My meals consisted of oatmeal, chicken noodle soup and more chicken noodle soup.

picstitch-5

Today I started the day with my favorite oatmeal concoction once again- you will learn that I am a creature of habit.  I then had a snack of a small banana and a half serving of almonds.  In light of trying to drop this baby weight, I am being very diligent about counting and measuring my food.  It also helps that I am entering everything into MyFitnessPal (thank you, new iPhone).  For lunch I had leftovers of my dinner that I didn’t post from Monday night: turkey enchilada casserole.  I also had a late afternoon snack of a handful of almonds and dark chocolate chips.  Dinner came together quickly thanks to one of our favorite crockpot meals courtesy of Julie at Peanut Butter Fingers: chicken, carrots and sweet potatoes with soy sauce and some spices.

What I am learning from documenting my food is that I MUST EAT MORE VEGGIES- my goal for tomorrow!

It was a beautiful day January day in Indiana today and I was so glad I was able to get in a run outside.  I planned on going in the late afternoon when the sun was still shining, but agreed to wait so that the hubby could join us.  Despite having some road blocks (literally) and having to push the baby jogger through some slush, we logged in 3 miles at a 9 minute pace.  (I am getting there!)  I came home and then completed two circuit workouts.

The Kennedy’s

So, I have a slight obssesion with the Kennedy’s.  Okay, maybe obsession isn’t a good word, but I am very intrigued by the family and President JFK’s administration.  I used to just be in love with Jackie’s fashion and style, but a few summers ago there was a mini series on AMC that we watched and after that I started actually reading a lot instead of just admiring Jackie’s attire.

Prior to the mini series, I didn’t realize how much JFK’s father had his hands in the decisions in President Kennedy’s decision.  I felt as if he was living vicariously through JFK and filling the void from his other son who he had initially hoped would some day become president, but then passed away.

I have a very good friend that is just as intrigued as me and recently recommend a book to me: Mrs. Kennedy and

Mrs. Kennedy and Me.grid-4x2

 I am currently about 1/3 of the way through the book and am hooked (although it takes me much longer than it used to finish a book).   The author, Clint Hill, was Jackie’s bodyguard during her time as first lady and shares some very intimate details about Jackie not only as a first lady, but also as a person.

I hope to finish the book within the next week and am excited to do so.  Once I do, I will begin listening to these…

ht_jackie_kennedy_book_ll_110523_wmain

I was surprised to find a box from Amazon with these on the porch the other day from my hubby: “Historic Conversations On Life With John Kennedy”.  The best part of these are that these are real-life interviews, her voice!  I am quite excited- my husband sure does know me well!

Is there a famous person or family that really intrigues you?

2 thoughts on “The Kennedy’s

Leave a Reply

