January Challenge

With a new year always comes the hopes for a new workout regimen, starting one or continuing one.  My good friend started a Facebook group in December called, “25 Days Until Christmas” where she posted a short, at-home, circuit workout each day to keep people on track during the crazy holiday season.  The group was so successful she decided to keep it going, but asked me to do the workouts for January to take some of the burden off of her.

This past week I posted 4 workouts and we had 32 people complete all or some of the workouts and 19 people that completed all of them.  I am so proud of the people that have committed to making fitness a priority this month.

In the midst of this, I have had several people message me and ask me about their diet and nutrition.  “What should I be eating?”  I am not a nutritionist, in fact, I can log a ton of miles, several workouts, spend hours at the gym, but my eating habits are my downfall.  The 9 months I spent carrying my sweet Claire I thought I could eat whatever I wanted which included McDonald’s french fries and regular cokes- two things that were previously not found in my diet.  I ate a ton of sugary cereal, and pasta with just olive oil and parmesan cheese.  To say the least, I lost any healthy ways of eating I had.  Before becoming pregnant, I was “okay”.  I would have good days and horrible days.  I was about 5 pounds heavier than usual when I became pregnant and I would contribute that to my diet.

It is hard for me to give other’s advice on what to eat if I don’t follow my own advice.  I know how to do it, but it is about making the change, saying “no”, and committing myself and my family to a change.   When I was in my best shape and felt the healthiest was when I followed Tosca Reno’s Eat Clean Diet (I hate the word diet because it is a lifestyle change, not a diet).

So here I am challenging others to complete four workouts a week, but also challenging myself to take the month of January to set the tone for the rest of the year of clean eating.  Now this doesn’t mean I don’t have cheat days, but I have less of them.

I have decided to start my clean eating lifestyle by documenting what it is I eat through pictures… here goes today.

picstitch

Breakfast: I started the morning like I always do with plain, natural oatmeal.  Today I topped it with an apple, cinnamon and walnut pieces.  I of course had my coffee, but made sure I matched my coffee with a glass of water as well.  I knew I had a hard workout coming up and needed to hydrate.

Pre-Workout Snack: I taught my interval training class at noon today at the YMCA.  As I was getting ready to leave, I started to feel hungry so I grabbed an apple and a spoonful of natural peanut butter and ate it in the car while I gulped down some more water.

Workout: I taught a tough 55 minute interval training class today.  I love that class!  We alternate between 4-5 minutes of high intensity cardio moves and recover with 2-3 minutes of strength moves.  Great workout!

picstitch-1

Lunch:  After my class I was starving!  Unfortunately I had to go to the grocery to get items for Josh to make chilli.  I was wishing I would have packed a protein shake or something, but I didn’t- I need to get better at that.  I resisted all junk that looked good at the grocery store and waited until I arrived home.  I fixed 3 egg whites on a sandwich thin with avocado and a few dashes of tabasco sauce.  Mmmm that is my go-to quick, healthy, high protein lunch.  I also ate a red pepper alongside it.

Lunch #2: Josh was cooking chilli as I ate my first lunch and my hunger couldn’t wait.  So, once it was finished, I was still a little hungry so I had a very small bowl to tie me over until dinner.

Dinner: Just a bigger bowl of chilli- he really makes the best chilli!  We use turkey burger in it instead of hamburger too.

Snack/ Late night treat: I love my sweets!  As hard as I try, I just can’t give up my sweets, so I try to limit them as much as I can.  Tonight I cut up a few strawberries and melted 2 tablespoons of dark chocolate chips in the microwave.  Just enough to satisfy my sweet tooth.

I know I will get better at eating clean.  After looking back on today, I need to eat more veggies- a good goal for the week.

What are you challenging yourself to do this January?

Leave a Reply

