Losing that Baby Weight

“I can’t believe you still workout and you are THAT pregnant.  Your baby weight will come off really fast.”  I heard this constantly when I was pregnant with Claire.  I heard it so often that I believed it.  Couple that with watching the Today show and someone on there saying, “You should be back to your pre-baby weight at 6 weeks after you are pregnant.”

Well, here we are 16 weeks later and I am still not back to my pre-baby weight.  However, for the first time in 16 weeks I am okay with the fact that it is taking me longer than I intended- it has been a humbling experience.  I have always been an athlete, always been in good shape, but darn this is hard work.

Have I worked hard at this? Yes.  Could I have worked harder the last 16 weeks?  Yes.  Could I have eaten better?  Yes.

I started working out again two weeks after I had Claire and started running (slow and short distances) four weeks later.  I started teaching my class again at the YMCA after 6 weeks and I would say when Claire was 2 months I was working out four to five times a week.

My daughter is 16 weeks old tomorrow and I am 10 pounds away from my pre-baby weight and 16 pounds away from my goal weight.  (I was about 4-6 pounds heavier than usual when I got pregnant.)

I am not as fast as I used to be, but I am getting faster.
I can’t run as far as I used to, but with each run I go farther.
I am not as strong as I used to be, but I am getting stronger.
I am not the woman I used to be… now, I am a mother.

I will get where I want to be.  I will get there within a year of giving birth. I have learned to give myself time and to give my body time.  I have also learned to be kind to my body- it took 9 months to grow a healthy baby, it might take 9 months to lose that baby weight and that is okay.

I can do it, but know that the most important thing to me is not  the number on the scale, but to teach my daughter through example to live a healthy life and and to be comfortable and confident in her skin- it begins here…

One thought on “Losing that Baby Weight

  1. Amen girl you will get there and you’re an inspiration to others! With my 3 my body has drastically changed and some days are better than others. I am at one of my lowest adult weights ever but the shape of my body is completely different because of being a mother. God does amazing things with our bodies when we become mothers and Claire is so blessed to have a mom like you to set a good example of what living a healthy life looks like.

Leave a Reply

