30 Before 30 UPDATE

Back in June, I wrote a list of 30 things I wanted to accomplish before I turned 30 here.

I am 15 months and 5 days away from turning 30 (not that I am counting), and thought I should probably check my progress on my list:

1. Become a mother
2. Finish my Masters in Education Administration
3.  Run another full marathon
4.  Start playing tennis again (league or lessons)
5. Visit Napa or Sonoma Wine Country
6. Take another trip overseas (I am thinking Germany & Switzerland) (It will be Switzerland for sure, and we have already started saving for this… YAY!)
7. Run a sub 1:50 half marathon (After having a baby and trying to get back to my normal pace, I have realized this is more difficult than I ever imagined!)
8. Complete a triathalon (a sprint try would suffice)
9. Take another ski trip out west (This is planned and happening soon!)
10.  Complete a family run (with hubby & the baby)
11. Take a family vacation (the three of us)
12. Take a weekend trip with my girlfriends
13. Become a better photographer
14. Run a race for charity
15. Complete a trail run
16. Move out of the classroom and into a leadership role (I am not sure this will happen by the time I am 30 considering my new SAHM status.  It is amazing how a child can change your goals.)
17. Complete a mudder
18. Bake an apple pie… homemade crust in all
19. Successfully grow vegetables
20. Keep my car clean for a month (this might be the most difficult of all of them for me)
21. Paint pottery
22. Print all my pictures that I have on the computers and put in an album
23. Begin keeping up with my pictures by making a Shutterfly book for each year (then in three years I won’t have to do the above)
24. Read to Baby N each night (I do this each night, but I am not crossing it off because I want to continue to do it)
25. Attend a Notre Dame football game
26. Attend a Jimmy Buffet concert
27.  Read 30 books that are not assigned to me (they can be professional books, but not ones I HAVE to read for grad school) (I have been HORRIBLE about this, but uploaded a book to my Kindle today, so I am starting it)
28.  Listen to Jackie Kennedy’s Historic Conversations
29.  Take Baby N to the apple orchard, pumpkin patch, Children’s Museum and Zoo
30. Golf a full 18 holes with Josh

So, I have only completed three of my goals, but that is okay, I still have time.  I am so happy to be a mommy!  We completed our first family run on Thanksgiving day and it was wonderful.  Josh and I have always done a run on Thanksgiving day and it made it even better pushing Claire in the baby jogger this year- I love creating traditions with our family of 3.  AND, I can’t believe I kept my car clean for a month- actually, it has been beyond a month… I am proud! 

What do you want to accomplish before your next big birthday?

Leave a Reply

