The Waiting Game

First, some basic facts about me:

1. I am not a patient person.

2. I love routine, a schedule; and in my mind, everything is better when it is planned.

This baby is really working on these above facts.  I have heard that the last few weeks of pregnancy are the longest and I am learning first-hand the truth to that statement.

I stopped working last Tuesday after I took a fall running.  I know, at 37 weeks and 5 days pregnant people are probably wondering why in the world I was still running.  For that answer, see #1.  I had taken the day off of work to take our dog to the vet and complete the hospital tour and registration.  I set out (with our dog) for a fast walk before my day began.  I was feeling good, really wanted to run, and didn’t like the thought of not running until six weeks after I had this baby (again, see #1).  So, I added some run intervals into my walk and spent the last ten minutes running.  It was the last three minutes of my run and I was right around the corner from my house when my dog and I were turning the corner, she cut in front of me, and I tripped (really flew) over her torso.  I landed right on my stomach.  Terrified, I hurried home, called the doctor and was told to come to the hospital.  There I was hooked up and monitored for the day- luckily, Baby N was okay and so was I.  However, that was the end of my running and the end of my working.

At first I was thrilled to be done working.  I didn’t think it’d be too long before I had the baby, especially because when I was in the hospital, I was having contractions every 3-4 minutes, but they were mild.  In my head, it was only a matter of a couple days until they became stronger and I’d have the baby… boy was I wrong!

One week and a day later, I am still waiting.  I am off work, waiting for the baby and am trying to entertain myself.  Everyone says to me, “enjoy this time to yourself.”  Another thing to know about me: I like to be busy and have a hard time being a “lady of leisure” as my doctor requested.  The nursery is done.  The baby’s clothes are all washed and everything is put away.  This weekend I cleaned the house, and did all the laundry.  Now, I literally get up every day and ask, “Okay, is this going to be the day?”  I am really not enjoying this time.  I have the time off of work, so I would rather have it as extra time with our baby rather than time alone.

At 38 weeks and 6 days, I am also just OVER being pregnant.  I am ready to get back into a workout routine (see #2)  and a healthier way of eating that doesn’t revolve around what does and doesn’t sound good at the moment.  I am ready to lace up my shoes, put on my running shorts that will hopefully get looser, and stick Baby N in that baby jogger and pound the pavement!  Ahhh, I just got excited typing that!

So after a rather easy pregnancy, I am done WAITING for this baby to arrive.  I am ready to hold our little one and become a family of three.  Not to mention, I am ready to find out if we will be adding PINK or GREEN to the nursery.

It could happen today… it could happen in a week.  What is your prediction?

Leave a Reply

